CITY OF SUTHERLIN PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING CIVIC AUDITORIUM – 7PM TUESDAY, MARCH 19, 2013

Commission Members:

John Lusby, Mike Meier, Rita Jost, Michelle Sumner, Bertha Egbert, Adam Sarnoski, Mike Flick

Excused: Rita Jost

City Staff: Planning Consultant, Carole Connell Community Development Technician, Billie Wright

Audience: Floyd Van Sickle

Meeting called to order at 7pm by Chair Lusby.

Flag Salute

Introduction of Media – None present.

• Approval of Minutes

MOTION made by Commissioner Egbert to approve the minutes as read from the October 16, 2012 Planning Commission meeting and the minutes from the February 19, 2013 meeting; second by Commissioner Sumner.

Discussion: If the minutes were read, there is no need to abstain.

In favor: Commissioners Meier, Flick, Sarnoski, Sumner, Egbert, and Chair Lusby

Opposed: None

Motion carried unanimously.

Planning Commission Training

City Planner, Connell, reported she has been training all around the state for about 20 years. She has shortened Oregon's Statewide Planning Program to create a packet that is to the point and may cover everyone's questions

Connell discussed the Oregon Land Use Program and why it exists (it is very different from the rest of the country); the laws it created, the players involved, and ethics (very important in the private property issues). It also includes how to make good decisions; to know if you have good findings, if you are meeting the codes, and how to know if you're going too far when you place conditions on a decision; and how to run a public hearing.

• Commission Comment

Commissioner Flick asked about the Government Ethics Commission form he got in the mail; may need help with it. – Contact Vicki Luther, City Recorder/HR Director, can assist and mail for Commissioners.

• **Public Comment** – None

• Adjournment

With no further business the meeting was adjourned at 8:14 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Billie Wright Community Development Technician

 APPROVED BY COMMISSION ON THE _____ DAY OF _____ 2013

John Lusby, Commission Chair